I Hope Women Get the Right to Vote Soon

Dwayne's HeadCheck out this article: Inspiring Quotes from 10 Influential Women in Tech

This blows my mind, but to explain why, I’m going to have to give you a quick peek inside my psyche my fu*king awesome brain. At almost all times, there are two voices running in my head. One is an asshole and one is the opposite. It’s up to you to decide which is the real Dwayne.

Dwayne #1: It blows my mind that anyone could even put together a >0 list of women who’ve made a contribution to technology. Seriously, a woman should never be allowed to touch a computer.

Dwayne #2: It blows my mind that I have never heard of a single one of these women. Seriously, why don’t these women get more attention? I am not what ANYONE would call a feminist sympathizer, but I absolutely believe that women’s contributions and voices are far too often devalued. I’ve been thinking about this a lot now that I have a son. It’s very important to me that he not only knows how to respect women (really, all people), but also that he values their contributions and capabilities no different than those of men. This affects the way that I talk to his mom in front of him, the way I will eventually talk to him about women, and, unfortunately, what “entertainment” I let him view.

IMHO, the ongoing subserviency of women is real and it is disgusting.

Dwayne #1: IMHO, it sounds like Dwayne #2 might be a woman.

PS: I did not drink coffee today.

Leave a Reply

