six.

Conversations I’ve had with Jane over the past week:

J: I want to watch a movie.

A: No, Jane, it’s time for bed.

J: But you said girls can do anything!

A: ….

***

J: If you die first will you tell your daddy that he has a granddaughter?

A: Of course I will!

J: Do they have phones in the angels?

A: I don’t think so.

J: Why not?

A: ….

 ***

J: Mommy, I just want you to know you are the best Mommy in the whole world, and there is no one better than you.

A: Thanks, Jane. (sensing she was reciting a line) Where did you hear that?

J: Um, it was on this Barbie movie I watched.

A: ….

***

 She’s the first person who has ever left me repeatedly speechless. She is as sassy and dramatic as she’s ever been, reminding me daily of someone I know. Who is it again? Oh right. Her mother.

jane cupcakes

She’s also fantastically creative, funny, silly, quick and smart as hell. This year she learned how to read and loves it, which could not make this book nerd more proud. She learned how to swim, so “Mommy watch this! No, Mommy watch this!” is something I hear approximately 100 times a day when we are at the pool in the summer.  She performed in her first big dance recital this spring and adored it, especially the part where everyone clapped and gave her flowers. (Again…her mother.)

jane dance

For the bulk of her kindergarten school year, I worked part time, and I spent the most time I ever have with her at home since she was born. We went on daily trips to the library or bookstore, did her homework together in the mornings, and played one million games of hide and go seek at the bus stop. And now, in just a few short weeks and after a summer of camp, she’s weeks away from being a first grade. A FIRST GRADER. It seems like yesterday she looked like this:

 jane purple

jane mother's day

I’m not a perfect parent; not even close. But what I know is there is nothing in my life that makes me want to be a better person than my girl. She tells me all the time that she wants to be just like me, after all. So I try to be the best example that I can, all the while tripping and stumbling, but doing my best.

Happy Sixth Birthday, sweet Jane. I love you more than I will ever be able to express.

Previous birthday posts, on ye olde blog:
Birth
One
Two
Three
Four
Five

3 responses to “six.

  1. This is an amazing thing that you do, this posting on her birthday. My Mom is an amazing writer who doesn’t write. There is no one in the world whose inner thoughts about me I want to know more, yet she is famously tight-lipped on the subject.
    This is special, and beautiful and lovely to read, and one day, each post will be a beautiful little gift to her.

    Happy birthday, Jane!

  2. Awww that was sweet. For comedic effect, I would have enjoyed the convos in reverse order 😉 I thought that first one was hysterical! Also you’re a lovely mom and Jane’s a kick-ass daughter!

Leave a Reply

