Let’s Talk About My Hair

Heads

Now Dwayne made me feel all self-conscious by apologizing for writing about something personal in this space, but I honestly cannot think of anything to write about if it doesn’t somehow relate to me, me, me. So guys, take a break.  Ladies, listen up, I’m about to obsess about my hair.

I want to cut it all off.

For those of you who don’t know me in real life, sorry but I’m not going to show you what I look like presently; just use my little icon at the top of this post fill in for an actual photo of me.  My hair is fine and naturally curly, “swavy” is the technical hairdressing term.  It’s already somewhat short, but I have longed to have a cute pixie cut for about as long as I’ve had hair.

I blame Drew Barrymore in “Boys on the Side”.  That adorable little cut, I wanted it so badly (still do).

Drew Barrymore by Ellen Von Unwerth 1995
And then there’s my girl crush, Pink.  Always foxy in a spiky pixie.

pink-01
But the problem is that I’m not a gorgeous blonde and I really don’t know if I can pull it off.  My hair is so fine and weirdly curly/wavy. I’m afraid to cut it and look like a cancer patient.

Oh, did I mention that I have a hair appointment tomorrow?  Yeah, and I still can’t decide.

I have spent an embarrassing number of hours Googling “pixie cut curly” and searching Pinterest for “wavy pixie hair”.  I know I love the cuts, I just can’t picture them on me.  Today I realized something: has anyone ever looked WORSE after cutting their hair short?  I’m sure there have been some, but indulge me for a minute.

Michelle Williams:

michelle
Gorgeous!

Halle Berry:

halle
Amazing!

Ginnifer Goodwin:

ginnifer
SO! MUCH! BETTER!

Hell, even Miley Cyrus:

miley
Cute!

And just to show a non-Hollywood example, here is my sister:

andrea
Love the short hair!

So calm my nerves, tell me I can do it.  Offer to lend me your hat if I hate it.  Or tell me not to do it, you decide.

3 responses to “Let’s Talk About My Hair

Leave a Reply

