So…I’m Adopted

Dwayne's Head

Antescript: This is not my personal blog. I don’t intend to use it as my personal blog. But I think the following very personal story is interesting enough to share on my not-personal blog.

So…I’m adopted. I’ve known I was adopted for as long as I can remember. Being adopted is so much of a non-issue for me, that I NEVER think about it until I have to explain to someone why my parents are Caucasian and I am not, or why I don’t speak Spanish despite looking like someone who should speak Spanish.

As far as I am concerned, my only parents are the two people I call Mom and Dad. I have no interest in knowing about my life before Mom and Dad came into it.

However. I have a son now. Over the past couple of months, I’ve found myself wanting to know a little bit more about my half of the genetics that make him, him.

So a couple of weeks ago, I came across an online discussion about www.23andme.com. For 99 bucks, I can spit in a cup, have my DNA genotyped, and get the following:

  • Reports on 240+ health conditions and traits
  • Testing for 40+ inherited conditions
  • Discover your ancestry composition

I know close to nothing about my ancestry, which means my son will know close to nothing about his ancestry. I don’t want that to happen. I want to be able to show him a fun chart like this:

Person1_23andMeComposition

Also, I want to know if my deep hate of cilantro is genetic: “Cilantro as a matter of taste”

So…I will be purchasing this kit and sending off my spit to be analyzed. I plan to update and share some of my results right here. On my not-personal blog. Stay Tuned.

3 responses to “So…I’m Adopted

Leave a Reply

