Better Living Through Amazon

Heads

Sunday night a week ago I was exhausted, fighting a cold, and making my weekly grocery list.  It happened to be one of those terrible weeks when the stars aligned, the cupboards were bare, and I needed everything. Toilet paper, dish soap, paper towels, laundry detergent… all of the expensive things and all of the same things I buy in bulk on a regular basis.  One of those things was Cetaphil bar soap which I cannot live without, despite the fact that it costs almost $4 per bar.  A light bulb suddenly went off and I thought I’d check to see how much Cetaphil bars would be on Amazon.  Well!  What a nice surprise. They were much cheaper, and even cheaper so if I opted to sign up for the Subscribe and Save option.

Subscribe and Save is Amazon’s program where you elect to have the items sent to you automatically at intervals you choose (between one and six months) and in turn, you save money on each order.  Perfect!  I already do this for the blades in my husband’s electric razor and I know how nice it is to have them come without having to remember to buy them.  Also it’s easy to change the intervals if you want them sooner (or later) than you thought you would.

I started to wonder what else I could have sent to me automatically.  Like I said, I was fighting a cold and may have not been thinking clearly thanks to my fever, but before the night was over I had signed up to have toilet paper, dish soap, dishwasher tabs, paper towels, and Cetaphil bars sent to me every three to six months.  A week later, I’m still giddy a the thought of never having to lug a bulk pack of toilet paper rolls home from the store.  I think that Subscribe & Save is brilliant and I’m considering signing up for more of the things I use everyday, but my husband isn’t quite sharing my level of enthusiasm.  I believe his exact quote was,”I can’t believe that we’re THOSE people who have toilet paper delivered to the house”.

So what do you think?  I think that this would be perfect for new parents who need diapers and wipes constantly, or for a lazy lady like me who just doesn’t like to grocery shop.  Do you subscribe to any items on Amazon?  Would you consider it?

2 responses to “Better Living Through Amazon

  1. I’ll tell you what I think. I think I WISH I was one of “THOSE people who have toilet paper delivered to the house.” It means you are fancy, basically. And I want to be fancy.

  2. Pingback: The A is for Awesome | IMHO·

Leave a Reply

