losing my religion.

At this point in my life, I would identify myself as a bleeding-heart liberal far ahead of identifying myself as a Catholic. But the truth is, Catholicism is a part of who I am too – a part I struggle with mightily when it comes to social issues, particularly because I disagree with the church in so many ways and in such a profound way I find myself pretty much never going to church. And yet.

This Frank Bruni column in the New York Times on Sunday struck such a chord with me that I read it three times. This part, in particular, hit home:  On the far side of all the church scandals and all its misspent energy, these Catholics still see a fundamental set of values, a compass, that they don’t want to lose touch with or give up on.

Have a read – I’d love to know what you think.

3 responses to “losing my religion.

  1. Read it twice…. being raised Catholic there are many things in the article that hit home. For me, leaving the Catholic church ended up being a no brainer. While there are many good things about the church, there are equally as many nonsensical and “bad” that I disagree or am apaulled by that logically I could no longer condone or be a part of it. Back in the mid nineties when my cousin, an openly gay man, died from AIDS and the church refused to offer a burial services because he was a “sinner and evil man”, it was certainly the beginning of the end. And, after becoming a divorced man being told that I could no longer be a “complete” member of the church, it was a relief as it gave me an easy out. I suppose staying a part of the church was in part superstition (believing that I’d go straight to hell if I didn’t follow the laws of the church— silly huh?). Fortunately those two things, along with many others, helped me to see that my belief was ludicrous. While my three boys are being raised Catholic, they too see the good and bad, and as they get older and begin to make their own decisions, they will have to decide what is right for them. Hopefully they will see by my actions that I didn’t explode into hell in a ball of fire when I became a member of another church! Afterall, ALL churches and religeons have their issues and nonsensical ways….. it all comes down to which, if any, you can most feel comforatable with…. or not.

  2. I had a similar conversation not long ago about how there isn’t a widely accepted, non-spiritual moral framework for behaving as a good person. Why is that?

    As someone who was raised without religion (for the most part) I find it both strange and incredibly sad that a large percentage of the world needs to use the threat or the wrath of some mysterious, invisible being to understand and communicate to others what is right and wrong, and how one should behave. Particularly when that moral framework is governed by a very close-minded set of backward-thinking men who do not practice what they preach (forgive the phrase).

    Maybe it’s that I’m OK with trusting science and knowing that even if I don’t understand why something happens, I don’t need to have it all explained away with or attributed to “God”.

  3. I also was raised and married in the catholic faith. My Children attend catholic schools (although 2 of the 4 are not baptized). In the eyes of the church i am a sinner due to some of my life choices. I am extremely uncomfortable in church now, i have lost touch with “god” on the whole and would say i am an non-believer at least at the moment. However i wish i was part of a church because at one time or another my belief has made a difference. I think that for many the catholic church has let them down, if there is a God then he forgives and welcomes his people no matter what; something the catholic faith has forgotten.

Leave a Reply

